In the previous 23andMe experience, introductions were a method in which to contact matches within DNA Relatives. By sending an introduction, a person was able to communicate with his or her anonymous relatives. In the new 23andMe, anonymous participation in DNA Relatives is no longer an option.
To simplify the features and site experience, the ability to send or accept an introduction was removed in November 2015. At that time, pending introductions were canceled and deleted.
While the ability to send or accept introductions was removed, profiles of previously accepted introductions will continue to be included in DNA Relatives. The name displayed for these matches will depend on the privacy selections made when the introduction was sent or accepted. An anonymous match had the option to share his or her name, or remain anonymous:
- If the option to share a name was selected, his or her full profile name will appear in DNA Relatives.
- If the option to remain anonymous was selected, he or she will remain anonymous until he or she has opted in to DNA Relatives in the new 23andMe experience.
Read about Privacy and Display Settings in DNA Relatives here.
Note: Some introductions may have also included the option to share genomes. If genome sharing was accepted, your relative’s profile name will be displayed in DNA Relatives, and the sharing status icon located in the Sharing column will be green.