The Share and Compare tool allows you to connect with other 23andMe users and compare your reports to theirs, or to share your reports with your family members and friends. At the top of the feature you will notice a Share and Compare tab and a Manage Your Connections tab.
The Share and Compare tab is where you can compare reports with other 23andMe users to see the similarities and differences between yourself and the people with whom you are sharing. Using the Share and Compare tab, you can:
Compare directly with another user by locating and then clicking on his or her name.
Compare a single item, such as an ancestry result, with all of your sharing connections by selecting an item from the list of available options on the right side of the page.
Connect with close relatives to explore how your ancestry has been passed down in your family tree. Those with the 23andMe Health and Ancestry Service, will also be able to explore how health conditions and phenotypic traits have been passed down.
The Manage Your Connections tab is where you can invite your family and friends to connect, remove a sharing connection, or manage your pedigree. To learn more about using this tool, select a topic from the list below:
- How to send a sharing invitation to a family member or friend.
- How to send a sharing invitation if I have already added the person to my pedigree.
- How to add information about my ancestors to my tree.
- How to remove a sharing connection.
- How to delete a person in my pedigree.
Start Sharing With a Family Member or Friend
A sharing invitation can be sent to a family member or friend even if he or she is not already a 23andMe user. If your family member or friend is not already a 23andMe user, your sharing invitation will prompt him or her to create a free account where he or she can view your reports.
You can send a sharing invitation to close relatives and friends, by following the instructions below:
Important: If you have sent a sharing invitation to a 23andMe user, he or she will need to accept the invitation and have received data before you can compare in the Share and Compare tool.
Add a Sharing Invitation to an Entry
A sharing invitation can be sent to a family member and friend even if he or she is not already a 23andMe user. If your family member or friend is not already a 23andMe user, your sharing invitation will prompt him or her to create a free account where he or she can view your reports.
If you have already created an entry for your family member or friend in the Share and Compare tool, you can send a sharing invitation to him or her by following the instructions below:
Add Information to the Pedigree
You can add information about your ancestors* to your pedigree by following the instructions below:
*The pedigree tree is intended to trace close relatives such as grandparents, parents, and siblings; there is not an option to add more distant relatives such as great-grandparents or great-great grandparents.
Remove a Sharing Connection
Sharing can be discontinued in several ways. Either party can opt to discontinue the connection at any time without notice. Additionally, sharing connections are cancelled when a profile is transferred to a new account or when an account is closed.
To remove a sharing connection, follow the instructions below:
Delete an Entry in the Pedigree
If you would like to update the name or relationship of an entry with whom you are not sharing, you will have to delete that entry and create a new one.
You can remove an entry from your pedigree by following the instructions below: