This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here.

How sharing works

Establishing a sharing connection on 23andMe allows members to view one another's profile names, reports, compare report results, and see where they might share DNA if they are related. It does not allow access to raw data, the ability to download results, or other personal or genetic information not included in your profile.

When inviting someone to share, you can choose between two levels:

Ancestry only

  • If you're related, see where you share matching DNA segments
  • Compare your ancestries, haplogroups, and Neanderthal variants

Ancestry and health

  • In addition to the capabilities above, compare your results for health and trait reports.

How to tell what you're sharing

Your sharing level will be shown in Share and Compare and in the compare view so you can easily keep track of what you're sharing with a particular profile.

The compare view also indicates the service type that a share has access to; not all members have access to both health and ancestry information, or they may have opted out of receiving this information. You will be able to see their service type as well as your sharing level.

What should I consider before sharing at 23andMe?

  • When you extend a sharing invitation, your profile name will be included in the sharing invitation. Once sharing has been established between two accounts, both profile names will be visible in each other’s accounts.

  • You would directly be sharing information about ancestral origins, family relationships (including a predicted relationship if applicable) and, if you've chosen that option, health information. Some people are very comfortable sharing this kind of information, some are not - it's a personal choice.

  • In DNA Relatives, you can compare the shared DNA segments of two profiles you are sharing with even if those two are not sharing with each other. Similarly, your shares may compare your DNA with that of people they're sharing with. This aspect of sharing allows customers to compare people to each other and opens up new genealogical vistas by allowing customers to find evidence of family relationships.

  • There is some chance that someone you're sharing with could learn something about you that you didn't directly share. For example, if you and someone you're sharing with have a matching segment of DNA that overlaps a health-associated gene, you might infer something about their genotype on the basis of your own, or vice versa. While it's important that we mention this possibility, in practice it requires effort to make inferences like this, and it doesn't happen very often.

Sharing allows you to use more of the features on the website and adds a new dimension to what you can learn about yourself and your family. Many customers share openly with each other and have benefited from the experience.

Additional Notes on Sharing

  • You may not see data for an individual with whom you are sharing if that individual's data has not yet been loaded. Even though you can't see his or her information, he or she will be able to see yours. Once his or her data arrives you will be able to view it.


Didn't find what you were looking for?

Submit a request

Ask a question via Facebook or Twitter

Or call 1-800-239-5230
Monday through Friday, 3:00am to 5:00pm PST/PDT

Follow
Was this article helpful?
223 out of 321 found this helpful